Prehistoric Jazz, Eric Hofbauer (2014–17)

Leonard Bernstein referred to The Rite of Spring as “prehistoric jazz,” inspiring Eric Hofbauer’s jazz arrangements of classical repretoire. There are now four volumes in the series: Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), Messiaen’s Quatuor pour la fin du temps (renamed here Quintet for the End of Time), Ives’ Three Places in New England, and Ellington’s Reminiscing in Tempo.

Design and art direction for Boston-based guitarist and composer.
Letterpress printed by DWRI Letterpress on Colorplan papers. 
Photo by Lauren Poussard.
Type: Platform (customized) and Circular

© 2022 Benjamin Shaykin